top of page

2023 Pediatric Renal Dietitian of the Year

Christine Benedetti, MS, RDN, CSR, CCTD, LD

Christine is a Board Certified Specialist in Renal Nutrition working at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta with over 15 years experience in the nephrology field, including adults and pediatrics. With a passion for education, she leads the Clinical Nutrition Internship Program at Children's, offering general pediatric nutrition and renal-specific rotations, and has spoken at several national conferences, including the National Kidney Foundation’s (NKF) Spring Clinical Meetings (SCM) and Pediatric Renal Nutrition Academies (Intro & Advanced). Christine continues as the lead organizer for an annual 2-day Pediatric Nutrition Conference at Children's since 2018. She brings experience from years on various nonprofit Executive Boards in the nephrology field, including the NKF Council on Renal Nutrition, the NKF SCM Program Committee, the Georgia Renal Nutrition Association, Georgia Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (GAND), and the Pediatric Renal dietitians of North America (PRONA). In 2014, she was awarded the NKF Recognized Regional Dietitian of the Year award for Region 2 and the Georgia Renal Dietitian of the Year award, in 2020 the AND RPG Outstanding Service Award, and in 2021 NKF's Recognized Renal Dietitian of the Year award. Christine loves the opportunity to promote the nephrology nutrition field and the incredible dietitians within it. Outside of work, she cherishes time with her husband and four little girls, cooking, traveling, and playing tennis.

Christine headshot 2023.png

Past Award Recipients

PRONA is honored to acknowledge and award our well deserving colleagues. The annual Pediatric Renal Dietitian of the Year Award recognizes a dietitian who demonstrates exceptional abilities in the area of pediatric renal nutrition care, including: leadership, community involvement, publications / lectures and educational activities. We applaud the hard work that goes into caring for our patients and those shining bright in the field. Applications open mid-February each year with nominations due by March 31st. Below are our prior year winners.

2023 - Christine Benedetti, MS, RDN, CSR, CCTD, LD

2022 - Christina Nelms, MS, RDN, LMNT

bottom of page